Blog Details

Beyond MBBS and BDS : 5 Premium Courses for Biology Students

Published on : 20-02-2023 Powered by

Did you decide to opt for PCB combination after Class 10 ? Do you know that there are fantastic research oriented courses in pure / applied sciences in Biology and related areas offered by premium institutes which can land you a great career ? Here are some of these :

1. Course : 5 year Integ M.Sc (Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics)

Institute : National Institute of Science Education & Research (NISER) Bhubaneswar and Univ of Mumbai Centre for Excellence in Basic Sciences

Both National Institute of Science Education and Research (NISER) Bhubaneswar and University of Mumbai - Department of Atomic Energy, Centre for Excellence in Basic Sciences (UM-DAE CEBS) are autonomous institutions established by Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), Government of India, in 2007. NISER is an off-campus centre of Homi Bhabha National Institute (HBNI) and all academic programmes of NISER are affiliated to HBNI. Although CEBS is a DAE institution; it is physically located on the Kalina campus of University of Mumbai and the degrees to students are awarded by Mumbai University.

Students admitted to the programme are eligible to receive annual scholarship of Rs.60,000 either through the INSPIRE program of Department of Science and Technology or the DISHA program of Department of Atomic Energy, Government of India. In addition, the scholarship recipients receive grant of Rs.20,000 per annum for summer internship. Alumni of the programme are presently pursuing PhD at the top universities and institutes in India & abroad.

Besides, top performers at NISER and CEBS, securing overall grades above certain threshold at the end of the programme, are eligible to appear directly for the interview for admission to Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC) training school.

Admission : Admission is granted based on the merit position obtained in National Entrance Screening Test (NEST). For details, check NEST

2. Course : B.Tech (Biotech / Agri / Dairy / Food), BSc (H) in applied subjects

Institute : 75 Agricultural Universities and other Universities /Institutes having agricultural, veterinary and allied sciences faculties.

Admission : Through ICAR-AIEEA-UG (All India Entrance Exam for Admission – Under Graduate) conducted by Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR). The Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), an apex body for coordinating, guiding and managing research and education in agriculture in the entire country under the aegis of DARE, Ministry of Agriculture, has fostered a countrywide arrangement with the AUs to set aside 15% of their seats for Bachelor degree programmes to be admitted through ICAR’s All India Entrance Examination so as to reduce academic inbreeding, increase mobility among students, encourage national integration and infuse merit and uniform examination standards leading to improved overall quality of  agricultural education.  Accordingly, ICAR conducts All India Entrance Examination for Admission (AIEEA) to Bachelor degree programmes in agriculture and allied subjects, other than veterinary sciences, at Agricultural Universities on 15% of the University seats (except RLB CAU Jhansi, NDRI Karnal and Dr.RP CAU Pusa, Bihar where100% seats will be filled up) every year.

National Talent Scholarship (NTS) of Rs.2000/month are awarded based on the AIEEA-UG examination to all those candidates who take admission outside their state of domicile. Further, not more than 40% candidates from any one state are admitted in any agricultural university/subject. There is no direct nomination for admission through ICAR in any Bachelor degree programme without qualifying in this examination.

For details, check ICAR-AIEEA-UG

3. Course : Integrated BS-MS in basic sciences (PCMB)

Institute : Indian Institutes of Sciences Education & Research (IISERs)

To promote high quality scientific education, research and training, Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD), Government of India, has set up seven Indian Institutes of Science Education and Research (IISERs) at Berhampur, Bhopal, Kolkata, Mohali, Pune, Thiruvananthapuram and Tirupati.  The IISERs offer wonderful opportunities for graduate and undergraduate students seeking fulfilling science-based careers. Students can learn the basic sciences through a detailed program and, in parallel, work on cutting-edge research alongside exceptional faculty members.   Each IISER is an autonomous institution which awards the BS-MS degree.

This is a fully residential program.  The first two years of the program consist of core courses in basic sciences, the third and fourth years are dedicated to specialization in chosen science subjects and the fifth year includes a research project. The training during the program enables students to pursue a career in academia, R&D institutes, and science based industries.  

Scholarships : KVPY scholars admitted to IISERs will draw fellowship as per KVPY norms. In addition, a limited number of INSPIRE scholarships of ?5000/- per month will be available for candidates admitted through JEE and SCB channels.

Admission : Admission is granted through 3 modes

Mode 1: Kishore Vaigyanik Protsahan Yojana (KVPY) channel - Candidates having a valid KVPY fellowship commencing from year of course commencement

Mode 2:  Joint Entrance Examination - Advanced of Indian Institutes of Technology (JEE) channel 

Mode 3: State and Central Boards Channel (SCB) channel (IISER Aptitude Test to be taken)

For details, check IISER

4. Course : Integ MSc in Systems Biology / Optometry & Vision Sciences / Health Psychology

Institute : University of Hyderabad

The University of Hyderabad, a premier institution of postgraduate teaching and research in the country, was established in 1974 as a Central University, wholly funded by the University Grants Commission. Spread over 2000 acre, it runs 12 schools of study. The Schools of Mathematics and Statistics, Computer and Information Sciences, Chemistry, Economics, Management Studies, and Engineering Sciences & Technology are single discipline schools and the others are multi-department schools.

Admission : Based on merit in CUET conducted by NTA

Check details UoH-Spl-Sciences

5. Course : Integrated M.Sc. Biotechnology 

Institute : Savitribhai Phule Pune University

Savitribai Phule Pune University also just known as Pune University, is one of the premier Universities in India.  Established in 1949, this State University is home to 46 academic departments, has about 307 recognized research institutes and 612 affiliated colleges.  The Biotechnology program is offered by the Institute of Bioinformatics and Biotechnology (IBB).  IBB was established in 2002 and is funded by the UGC. SPPU is also known as “Oxford of the East”.

Admission : Based on merit in entrance exam

For details, check SPPU-IntegMSc


About the Author : Neelesh is Co-Founder, OPASIS

Keywords : Options in Biology, Beyond MBBS and BDS


Class selection Module