News & Updates

PREMIUM : IMU Cancels CET 2020, Extends application date

Published on : 06-Aug-2020 Powered by

Indian Maritime University, a Central University under Ministry of Shipping, Government of India, admit students to its niche Marine Engineering related courses normally through a Common Entrance Test (CET-IMU-Eng) which was rescheduled to be held on 30 Aug 2020. However, for 2020, it has now decided to Cancel the test (CET-IMU-Eng) thereby changing the selection criteria and has also extended the last date of application.

Courses offered by IMU : B.Tech (Marine Engineering), B.Tech (Naval Architecture & Ocean Engineering), B.Sc (Ship Building & Repair), B.Sc (Nautical Science), BBA (Logistics, Retailing & E-Commerce)

New selection criteria : Common Entrance Test (CET-IMU-Eng) will not be conducted for 2020. Admission to all programs will be based on HSC / PUC / Intermediate Examination. Rank Certificate will be issued based on the normalization method.

Campuses wise courses

(i) Out of the various campuses of IMU, B.Tech in Marine Engg is offered at Kolkata, Chennai and Mumbai, Naval Arch & Ocean Engg is offered at Vishakhapatnam.

(ii) In the affiliated institutes, Marine Engg is offered at Coimbatore, Cochin, Chennai, New Delhi, Pune, Madurai, Mumbai.

(iii) In the affiliated institutes, BSc (SBR) is offered at Palakkad. BSc (NS) is offered at Chennai and Pune

(iv) In IMU campuses, BSc (NS) is offered at Mumbai, Chennai, Cochin

(v) BBA programme was introduced from 2017-18 session and is offered in Chennai & Cochin.

Revised dates

Last date (EXTENDED) to submit application online : 21 Aug 2020

Other dates will ne announced in due course

About Indian Maritime University (IMU) : IMU was established on Nov 14, 2008 as a teaching and affiliating university under the Ministry of Shipping, Government of India, with Chennai as headquarters. There were 7 renowned legacy teaching-cum-research institutes under the Ministry of Shipping, and these were subsumed under the Indian Maritime University in November 2008. The 3 institutes in Mumbai, namely, the Training Ship Chanakya, the Lal Bahadur Shastri College of Advanced Maritime Studies & Research, and the Marine Engineering Research Institute became the Mumbai Campus of the Indian Maritime University. The 2 institutes in Kolkata, namely, the Marine Engineering Research Institute and the Indian Institute of Port Management became the Kolkata Campus of the University. The National Ship Design and Research Centre in Visakhapatnam and the National Maritime Academy in Chennai became the Visakhapatnam and Chennai Campuses respectively of the University. Post- November 2008, Kochi Campus was set up - in 2009. The University also has 18 Affiliated Institutes.


Like our facebook page GetOpasis / GetOpasis


Follow us on Follow us on


Class selection Module