News & Updates

LS passes Bill for opening 6 new IIT's

Published on : 26-Jul-2016 Powered by

A bill has been passed by Lok Sabha on Tuesday, 26th July, which aims at bringing the six new IITs as well as the Indian School of Mines (ISM), Dhanbad under the IIT Act.

Details of the bill:

  • Under the bill, 6 new IITs, including ones at Jammu and Tirupati, will be opened
  • Under the Institutes of Technology (Amendment) Bill 2016, new IITs will also be started in Palakkad, Goa, Dharward and Bhilai
  • Also, the Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad, will come the ambit of the Act
  • As reported earlier, the initial intake will be of 180 students in its first year and would increase to 450 in the second year, and to 928 (840 undergraduates, 80 postgraduates and 8 PhDs) in the third year of their operation
  • New IITs will be operated from their temporary campuses for the initial period of three years before shifting to their permanent campuses in the 4th year
  • The faculty-student ratio would be 1:10

(India Today)

Follow us on Follow us on


Class selection Module