News & Updates

Historic Move : UGC Grants Autonomy to 60 Higher Educational Institutions

Published on : 21-Mar-2018 Powered by

Introducing a liberalized regime in the education sector with linkage of autonomy and quality, the University Grants Commission has granted autonomy to sixty Higher Educational Institutions which have maintained high academic standards.

How does it benefit these Universities : These Universities will remain within the ambit of UGC but will get a lot more freedom in following respects

a) Start new courses

b) Establish off-campus centres

c) Introduce skill development courses

d) Start research parks

e) Start new academic programs

f) Higher foreign faculty

g) Enroll foreign students

h) Give incentive based emoluments to faculty

i) Enter into academic collaborations

j) Run open distance learning programs

And how do the colleges benefit : Eight colleges have also been granted autonomy, whereby the colleges will be free to do the following

a) Set their own syllabus

b) Hold examinations

c) Carry out evaluations and declare results

In these cases, only the degree will be awarded by the University

Central Universities – In Autonomy Category I

1) Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi

2) University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad

Central Universities – In Autonomy Category II

3) Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi

4) Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh

5) The English and Foreign Languages University, Telangana

State Universities – In Autonomy Category I

1) Jadavpur University, Jadavpur, Kolkata

2) Algappa University, Karaikudi

3) NALSAR University of Law, Telangana

4) SavitribaiPhule Pune University, Pune

5) Andhra University, Visakhapatnam

6) National Law University Delhi, Dwarka

7) Utkal University, Bhubaneswar

8) Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra

9) Sri Venkateswara University, Tirupati

10) Osmania University, Hyderabad

11) Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar

12) University of Jammu, Jammu

State Universities – In Autonomy Category II

13) University of Mysore, Mysuru

14) Anna University, Chennai

15) Punjab University, Chandigarh

16) Kakatiya University, Warangal

17) Punjabi University, Patiala

18) Rajiv Gandhi University of Law, Patiala

19) National Law University Odisha, Cuttack

20) University of Madras, Chennai

21) Guru Jambheshwar University of Science & Technology, Hisar

Deemed To Be Universities – In Autonomy Category I

1) Homi Bhabha National Institute Mumbai, Maharashtra.

2) Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha, Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh.

3) Gandhi Institute of Technology and Management (GITAM), Visakhapatnam, AP.

4) Narsee Monjee Institute of Studies, Mumbai, Maharashtra.

5) Sri Ramachandra Medical College and Research Institute, Chennai, Tamil Nadu.

6) Dr. D.Y. Patil Vidyapeeth, Pune, Maharashtra

7) Shanmugha Arts, Science, Technology & Research Academy (SASTRA), Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu

8) Symbiosis International, Pune, Maharashtra.

9) Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai, Maharashtra.

10) Datta Meghe Institute of Medical Sciences, Wardha, Maharashtra.

11) Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai, Maharashtra.

Deemed To Be Universities – In Autonomy Category II

1) TERI School of Advanced Studies, New Delhi.

2) Jain University, Bangalore, Karnataka.

3) Vellore Institute of Technology, Vellore, Tamil Nadu.

4) Manipal Academy of Higher Education

5) KLE Academy of Higher Education and Research, Belgaum,Karnataka.

6) Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu

7) Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology (KIIT), Bhubaneswar, Odisha.

8) JSS Academy of Higher Education & Research, Mysore, Karnataka.

9) ICFAI Foundation for Higher Education and Research, Hyderabad, Telangana.

10) Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute, Chennai, Tamil Nadu.

11) Padmashree Dr. D.Y. Patil Vidyapeeth, Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra.

12) The Indian Law Institute, New Delhi.

13) Siksha ‘O’ Anusandhan, Bhubaneswar, Odisha

Private Universities – In Autonomy Category II

1) O.P. Jindal Global University, Sonipat, Haryana

2) Pandit Deendayal Petroleum University, Gandhinagar, Gujarat.

Colleges granted autonomy with name of affiliating University

1) Yashvantrao Chavan Institute of Science, Satara, 533, Sadar Bazar, Satara Maharashtra-415 001 affiliated to Shivaji University, Kolhapur

2) Sri Sivasubramaniya Nadar College of Engineering, Rajiv Gandhi Salai, Kalavakkam-603 110 (Tamilnadu) affiliated to Anna University, Chennai

3) G. Narayanamma Institute of Technology & Science (For Women), 8-1-297/2/I, Shaikpet, Hyderabad-500 104 Telangana affiliated to JNTU Hyderabad, Telangana

4) Vivekanand College, 2130/E, Tarabai Park, Kolhapur-416 003 (Maharastra) affiliated to Shivaji University, Kolhapur

5) Sri Vasavi Engineering College, Pedatadepalli, Tadepalligudem-534 101 (West Godavari Dist.,) (Andhra Pradesh) affiliated to Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University, Kakinada

6) Bonam Venkata Chalamayya Engineering College, Odalarevu-553 210,Allavaram Mandal, East Godavari Dist., Andhra Pradesh affiliated to Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University, Kakinada, Andhra Pradesh

7) Jai Hind College Basantsing Institute of Science & J.T. Lalvani College of Commerce, 23-24 Backbay Reclamation, A-Road, Churchgate, Mumbai-400 020 affiliated to University of Mumbai, Mumbai-400 032

8) Shri Vile Parle Kelavani Mandal’s Mithibai College of Arts, Chauhan Institute of Amrutben Jivanlal College of Commerce and Economics, Vile Parle (West), Mumbai-400 056 affiliated to University of Mumbai

Follow us on Follow us on


Class selection Module